Chicken and Asparagus Pasta

I found this recipe a few days ago and wanted to try it. I’m usually a heavy sauce and pasta kinda girl, so this “healthier” alternative was a nice change to my usual meat sauce.
Like Cris, I tweaked the recipe a little. Instead of penne, I used spinach ravioli that I picked up from Costco that I was dying to try. Instead of parmesan, I used mozzarella-cheddar since it was already pre-shredded and in my fridge. I also seasoned my chicken with salt, pepper and a lot of lemon. I grew up with food that was cooked in very little salt. That was just how my mother prepared meals, but as I started cooking for myself, I was told constantly by friends that my food was – gulp – bland. So, I started cooking with a little more salt until I found a good balance of flavour and healthy. 
This meal took around 30 minutes to make and was absolutely delicious. I was a little nervous because the sauce is only extra virgin olive oil, but the dish had just enough taste and I just think asparagus is delicious. I could probably do without the chicken, but as a replacement protein, I will probably use shrimp next time.
This was the final product. Quite successful might I add. Looks almost the same as the original picture above. Will definitely keep this one in the rotation.
Image
Before I go, I just have to rave about the picture above. The housewife in me has been OBSESSED with Trader Joe’s ever since I was introduced to the store last month. I bought every spice and herbs available and use them on a daily basis. The Himalayan Pink Salt Crystals is amazing and I use it instead of salt in all of my cooking now. They all come with built in grinders, which is just fabulous. 
I might grab a few more this weekend!
Original recipe can be found here

Leave a comment